What’s new with Abbey Home Media – DVD review and giveaway.

Abbey Home Media have an great list of dvd releases on their list and these ones are just as good.

Twirlywoos – Full of surprises.

I’d be surprised if anyone without a toddler hadn’t seen the Twirlywoos at least once. It’s so bright and cute. It’s about these odd looking chicken things that go round in a submarine learning new things.

 I would say it’s a mix of Morph, Pingu and the (original) Teletubbies. Although the characters don’t speak (there is a voice over and she explains what they’re doing) I find they hold pops attention really well. 

This dvd has 8 episodes on;

  1. Next to
  2. Out
  3. Cleaning
  4. Going Over
  5. Getting Wet
  6. In and Out
  7. Open and Close
  8. Twirling

They’re around 5 minutes, apart from the odd few of pops very favourite shows she can’t sit through a full 30 minute show without getting restless so these short ones are ideal (especially if there’s no adverts) as the story changes to keep her interested! 

Masha’s Tales- Mixed up stories.

Pops absolutely adores Masha and the Bear, it was her first favourite show and the first show she proper belly laughed too so we were over the moon to get to try out the new Masha’s Tales DVD. 

The first thing Pops did when she saw the DVD is run round shouting bear, I didn’t have the heart to tell her that Bear wasn’t in these ones 🙈 so I waited until she had forgot about it before I put it on.
Stories include;

  1. Three Little Pigs
  2. Tom Thumb 
  3. The Valiant Little Tailor
  4. Ali Baba
  5. Caliph Stork
  6. Cinderella
  7. Father Frost
  8. The Fox and the Rabbit
  9. Jack and The Beanstalk
  10. Red Riding Hood 
  11. The Frog Princess
  12. The Golden Cockerell
  13. The Magic Swan Geese

Pops wasn’t really into this DVD first time round, Masha is Bear when she’s concerned so I think it was just weird for her that he’s not in it. I think after a few watches she’ll get used to it and love it though!

Topsy and Tim -Birthday party

I’m not going to lie, I thought this would be the one Pop’s was least interested in…purely because it doesn’t have singing and/or bright creatures. 

I was wrong. This more than the other two kept her attention the most, she was glued. 
It’s about these twins (Topsy, girl and Tim, boy) and the stuff they get up to in the day. 

There are six episodes

  1. Birthday party 
  2. Broken Vase
  3. Special Cake 
  4. Our Teeth 
  5. Wheelchair Exercises 
  6. Wiggles’ Trip

Pops loved copying the wheelchair exercises and even ran and found her ball to do it properly. I was so happy to see her get involved with a show that wasn’t just dancing and music and will definitely put it on more. 
All three are out soon but Abbey Home Media are letting us giveawat FIVE of the Topsy and Tim dvds to our readers, what are you waiting for? 

Enter giveaway here!

We were sent these DVDS to review, all opinions are our own. 

Until the next post, 

Are and Pops. 

60 Comments

  1. kimneville1
    July 19, 2016 / 5:49 am

    I liked watching Mr Benn

  2. Margaret Gallagher
    July 19, 2016 / 6:01 pm

    Bagpuss was my favourite

  3. marie powell
    July 21, 2016 / 8:53 am

    Little house on the Prairie on a Sunday afternoon, after that it was homework time

  4. leannelunn
    July 21, 2016 / 6:12 pm

    I loved the raggy dolls, still miss it now lol 🙂

  5. jamie Millard
    July 21, 2016 / 6:16 pm

    gummy bears. because they bounce here and there and everywhere.

  6. Rebecca Cusick
    July 21, 2016 / 7:51 pm

    Tough choice between Rosie & Jim or Tots TV! I was so obsessed with both programmes.

  7. Sonia Cash
    July 21, 2016 / 8:47 pm

    I loved Poggle’s Wood and Sooty and Sweep – I am really old

  8. Deborah Mackenzie
    July 22, 2016 / 2:46 pm

    never really watched much TV; but loved the old family time classics

  9. Kirsty Ward
    July 22, 2016 / 4:57 pm

    Tots TV! Whenever i hear the Theme Tune it takes me straight back to childhood!

  10. home4083
    July 22, 2016 / 5:44 pm

    Care Bears

  11. barbedwire71
    July 23, 2016 / 1:29 pm

    mr men

  12. deniellenicol
    July 23, 2016 / 1:35 pm

    Jaimie and his magic torch! Loved it Dxx

  13. Lisa Mauchline
    July 24, 2016 / 10:49 pm

    I loved Trapdoor. I now have the DVD box set too to watch with my little girl

  14. Elizabeth Marshall
    July 24, 2016 / 11:22 pm

    My favourite show was knightmare, it was so state of the art at the time. Side step left, no left not right, ahhhhh, such fun.

  15. Vickie Jackson
    July 25, 2016 / 5:18 am

    I loved Trapdoor and Rainbow Brite when I was growing up 🙂

  16. Jillian Cameron
    July 25, 2016 / 6:39 am

    My favourite show was Rainbow

  17. Tracy Newton
    July 26, 2016 / 7:24 pm

    I loved Rainbow.

  18. Jess Powell (Babi a Fi)
    July 27, 2016 / 10:23 pm

    Rainbow was my favourite 🙂

  19. Becky Yeomans
    July 28, 2016 / 10:07 am

    One of my favourites was Rosie and Jim! 🙂

  20. Tony Metcalf
    July 28, 2016 / 3:32 pm

    Wacky Races.

  21. jen s morgan
    July 30, 2016 / 4:50 pm

    Loved raggydolls as a kid x

  22. Kim Styles
    July 31, 2016 / 12:16 pm

    Bill and Ben

  23. Jenna keller
    July 31, 2016 / 8:42 pm

    I loved Sister Sister and Funhouse!

  24. Ema J Lowe
    August 1, 2016 / 9:45 pm

    one of my favourite tv shows was sooty

  25. Kay Panayi
    August 1, 2016 / 10:26 pm

    I love the raggy doll seven brought my daughter a DVD recently

  26. Helen Dickinson
    August 3, 2016 / 12:09 am

    i loved watching rainbow!

  27. Louise
    August 4, 2016 / 8:25 am

    I loved Bagpuss 🙂

  28. Clare Hubbard
    August 5, 2016 / 7:15 pm

    I used to love sooty

  29. Aaron Broad
    August 6, 2016 / 10:37 am

    I enjoyed watching Scooby Doo

  30. kezzy999
    August 6, 2016 / 3:36 pm

    Jamie and his magic torch was my fave

  31. Jemma Dwyer
    August 7, 2016 / 9:24 am

    the shoe people

  32. Mrs Sharon Beaman
    August 14, 2016 / 11:07 pm

    Back in my day, Watch with Mother with Picture book, Andy Pandy, Bill and Ben. Ragtail and Bobtail and the Woodentops. Monday to Friday in that order.

  33. Sarah Archibald
    August 15, 2016 / 2:11 pm

    I loved art attack!

  34. Laura Harrison
    August 16, 2016 / 11:06 am

    Earth Worm Jim xxx

  35. GRACE COLLINS
    August 16, 2016 / 1:56 pm

    mary mungo and mudge!

  36. Jayne Kelsall
    August 16, 2016 / 2:19 pm

    Mine was The Magic Roundabout ( but I’m just showing my age now .. lol )

  37. Rebecca Mercer
    August 16, 2016 / 7:35 pm

    I loved gummy bears and the racoons

  38. Karen Barrett
    August 16, 2016 / 8:36 pm

    Andy Pandy… I’m old! 🙂

  39. Jo McPherson
    August 16, 2016 / 9:03 pm

    My favourite was Bod or Bagpuss

  40. BECCA STAPLES
    August 17, 2016 / 9:32 am

    I loved Superted

  41. leanne perrett
    August 17, 2016 / 10:23 pm

    as a little child my mum said i loved mr ben and poddington peas

  42. Joanna Kasznicki
    August 18, 2016 / 12:59 am

    My favourite show was Superted 😀

  43. Catherine McAlinden
    August 18, 2016 / 8:27 am

    I loved Rainbow!

  44. lindsey graty
    August 18, 2016 / 8:34 am

    Bodger and badger

  45. Hayley Todd
    August 18, 2016 / 9:30 am

    I loved the Pink Panther!

  46. Sam Parkes
    August 18, 2016 / 10:25 am

    I had two Sooty and Trapdoor

  47. Dale Dow
    August 18, 2016 / 10:38 am

    Rosie & Jim or bananas in pyjamas

  48. David Crabb
    August 18, 2016 / 11:10 am

    I used to love play school!

  49. Karen Howden
    August 18, 2016 / 11:58 am

    My favourite programme on TV was Blue Peter, especially with Shep the dog

  50. Jenny Prest
    August 18, 2016 / 2:06 pm

    I use to love Postman Pat!

  51. C Parkin
    August 18, 2016 / 3:49 pm

    I loved Willo the Wisp

  52. STACY SORRELL
    August 18, 2016 / 4:30 pm

    i loved Trap Door, and Count Duckular 🙂

  53. Natalie Crossan
    August 18, 2016 / 5:09 pm

    Rosie and Jim

  54. Meena Hindmarch
    August 18, 2016 / 6:53 pm

    Blue Peter

  55. Holly Walker
    August 18, 2016 / 7:26 pm

    the riddlers

  56. pauline black (@suff38)
    August 18, 2016 / 8:41 pm

    Loved danger mouse and Scooby doo!

  57. Kay Broomfield
    August 18, 2016 / 9:09 pm

    I loved Knightmare – the virtual reality adventure show!

  58. Daniel Hunter-pike
    August 18, 2016 / 9:12 pm

    Flintstones or he-man

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.